Is It Sabbath Again?

Once more it is Sunday, and the observance of the Sabbath for individuals who claim Jesus as Savior and Lord, as I do. At least Sabbath for some worshipers. But I will not even think of discussing Sunday vs Saturday for worship. 🙂

I am reminded of the words of Jesus: “Then He said to them. “The Sabbath was made for man, not man for the Sabbath.”” (Mark 2:27 NIV)

Puts a whole new spin on God’s intentions for us. Seems like the Creator realized our needs for Rest much more clearly than we do. When He Rested, I believe He wanted to show us we also need Rest.

The puzzling question is – how do we give ourselves permission to Rest as God Almighty Rested on the seventh day? Our world is so frantic! But are our lives today more frantic than God’s when He created the entire world?

And – What constitutes Rest, a Godly Rest?

The word which comes to my mind is Refreshed. Is what I am doing on the Sabbath Refreshing me, so I might once again, on Monday, pick up my tasks with Joy and Pleasure?

Just something to dwell upon and pray about as I do, so I can stay in obedience with God Almighty.

One thought on “Is It Sabbath Again?

  1. I love the Sabbath! I find that if I don’t “Sabbath” then the next week I’m just so drained! Sometimes my Sabbath is a Saturday (when we travel for the weekend to our hometown) but most weeks it is Sunday. I do have to be intentional about my Sabbath or I will be swept up in busyness. Great post!

Leave a Reply

