Gifts From God

It is feeding time at the Lazo-Davis home; feeding time for our dog Crystal. Each time I feed her, you can tell she sees her food as a gift to her. If I am a little late, she will come lay her head on my lap. If I tell her to wait, or it is not time yet, she will patiently wait until I am ready to prepare her food.

Are we this gracious when we ask God for something?

Jesus tells us to not worry over our needs, God will provide.

“So do not worry, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ For the pagans run after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them. But seek first His kingdom and His righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well.”  Matthew 6:31-33  NIV

However, when we pray, do we trust God to provide, as my dog simply trusts me to provide? If I do not feed her, she will wait on me. If she has to fast, say for some surgery on the next day, and I do not bring food to her, she still loves me. I assume she figures it is not for her to have food tonight.

Yet when God similarly does not grant us something we just totally know we need, do we accept His decision? Or instead do we rant and rave? Do we pout? Do we beg?

Or do we Trust and keep asking in humility, waiting upon God because He knows what is best for us?

Something again I dwell upon.

Leave a Reply

